Easy Teriyaki Sauce

Went looking for recipes and none quite met the mark for me. So, I took to the kitchen with my knowledge of the ingredients and came out with something TASTY! This recipe really came together very quickly and made it very easy to create the Honey Teriyaki (recipe incoming) dish I was hoping for last night.  I was so proud of myself for finally taking the plunge and making my own sauce and I’m so glad that I did. It’s easy and so customizeable that anyone can make a sauce they love.


Putting the notes first so you don’t miss them at the bottom because they are pretty important.

Notes:
1. This makes enough to have some leftovers if you’re making my Honey Teriyaki Chicken
2. DO NOT leave the sauce to thicken, it happens quickly and will burn!
3. Add warm water if it’s thicker than you would like.
4. I recommend tasting before you set it aside to use late. Mine was a bit salty and I was able to adjust a little with more pineapple.
5. If you are thinking of delicious chunks of pineapple, make sure you add a few to the recipe instead of just the crushed.
6. I use everything except the ginger in mine when I’m cooking for the whole family. Ginger adds a nice heat to it, but some kids won’t be down for that.

And now to the recipe portion of the post!

Ingredients
1/2 cup Braggs Soy Sauce alternative
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 cup agave or honey
Optional
1/2 cup crushed pineapple
1/4 cup pineapple juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp ginger, minced

Instructions
1. In small pot, whisk all ingredients except agave or honey.
2. Heat mixture over medium-high heat until warm, then whisk in agave or honey
3. Bring the entire mixture to a boil
4. Reduce the heat to medium, whisking constantly until it reaches your desired thickness.

Seriously? Seriously! It’s that easy and now you have a yummy marinade and you know what’s in it. No highly processed ingredients or hidden chemicals. This saves really well in the fridge, too!

Whole food for the whole body.

 

This entry was posted in Shred 10. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

